Questions? +1 (202) 335-3939 Login
Trusted News Since 1995
A service for media industry professionals · Wednesday, December 12, 2018 · 470,969,858 Articles · 3+ Million Readers


2017 Golden Arm Award Sponsors

BALTIMORE, USA, November 14, 2017 / -- The 2017 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award candidates have been reduced to the Top 5 of the country’s top college quarterbacks.

Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award – named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football - are:

• J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
• Ryan Finley, NC State
• Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
• Trace McSorley, Penn State
• Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State

The Golden Arm Award is presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation’s top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. These strong leaders have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and worked hard for themselves and their teams during the season and beyond.

“If Johnny Unitas was still with us he would have been proud of the selection committees’ belief, trust and great job identifying these college quarterbacks’ that best represent what he stood for,” said Mel Kiper, ESPN Analysis.

In 2017, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, December 8, in Baltimore, MD. For the 2017 Golden Arm Award ceremony, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. is happy to be returning to The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand

Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. The Foundation provides financial assistance to underprivileged and deserving young scholar-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 touchdowns and throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) Connor Cook, (Michigan State, 2015) and Last year’s winner Deshaun Watson, Clemson.

Sponsors of the Golden Arm Award include: MedStar Sports Medicine, The Babe Ruth Museum, Baltimore Sun Media Group, Century Engineering, Comcast, Dunbar Armored, Dunbar Security Solutions and Dunbar Protective Services, The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand, Haddock Investments, Harvey Agency, Cannonball Moments, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., Maryland Department of Commerce, Monument Sotheby’s International Realty, PSAV, Panini, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, SILKS, Under Armor, Wilson Sporting Goods, and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, please visit: Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on Twitter: @GoldenArmAward or use the hashtag, #GoldenArmAward.

John Unitas, Jr.
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.
email us here

Powered by EIN Presswire

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.

Submit your press release